February 12th, 2020.

The Nora-MX club welcomed 200 guests to its 2019 Presentation which was held last Saturday evening at its regular haunt, the Oxford Belfry.

It was a night packed with joy and emotion, as champions and class achievers were crowned, and a fond farewell was bid to the Walker family who have stepped aside from the club organisation and handed over to the Shaw family.

The prestigious Nora-MX ‘Rider of the Year’ title was presented to a lady rider for the first time. Catrin Davies, who has ridden with Nora-MX since a very young age, was the worthy recipient, not just for winning the ACU Ladies Championship and holding her own against, and beating, the lads in the Novice Championship, but also for being such a good role model for the younger racers, both on and off the track.

A trophy was awarded to the top three in every group, and so the list was quite lengthy, but of note were; the McKnights, recognised for their commitment to the club throughout 2019 by travelling from Ireland for every round and regularly turning up in the small hours of Sunday morning; Ed Davies who picked up his 10th Nora-MX Masters award; Michael Haydon who switched from Novice to Clubman taking the honours for a second successive year; Robbie Wood for making the long trek south from Scotland to secure the British 250cc Championship; young Connor Yates who took the 100cc British Championship title, and the fastest 50cc auto rider in the field Harriet Mewse who won the class in convincing style.

A solemn moment saw the newly-introduced Tony Atkinson Memorial Vets award go to Richard Clark, with Nora’s very own DJ Stumpy as runner-up, and the recently-appointed Nora-MX organiser Richard Shaw taking third.

Out-going Nora-MX promoter Stuart Walker said; “Nikki, Clare and I would like to thank all past Nora-MX supporters for making it the most successful family quad club in Europe. We’d like to wish the new team the very best for the 2020 season. Nora-MX is in a terrific position and we’re confident that, with the passion that comes from having three generations of the Shaw family in the mix, the club will go from strength to strength.

“The Walkers aren’t going anywhere, as we’ll still be racing, and on hand trackside and in the pits to help out. You’re not rid of us yet!”

Pictured [top to bottom]
1. 100cc Overall 1st Connor Yates, 2nd Alfie North, 3rd Frank Marston
2. An emotional Catrin Davies was presented with Rider of the Year
3. Tony Atkinson Vets Overall 1st Richard Clark, 2nd Stumpy Lawrence, 3rd Richard Shaw
4. Masters Overall 1st Ed Davies, 2nd Jonathan McKnight, 3rd Greg Fisher

About Us
Archive News
© Redcat Marketing Limited.
Privacy Policy