January 30th, 2019.

Four of Britain’s top beach racers, Sheldon Seal, Harry Walker, Carl Bunce and Oli Sansom, head a 22-strong British entry for the Le Touquet Quaduro beach race this Saturday, the 2nd of February.

The quartet, who all have a major UK beach race win under their belt, will be aiming to become the first Brit to win the French classic since Paul Winrow, way back in 2001, when he won riding as a team with the Frenchman Pascal Rochereau.

Other Brits on the 317-strong solo entry list include Harry Miller, Ben Morgan, Laurence Stopps, Jamie Morgan, David Vass, Katie Hodgson, Lorne Sinclair, Ben Russell, Derek Burns, Simon David, Gary Fisk, Stuart Marley, Graham Guy and Richard Freestone.

In the 47-strong team category, the UK is represented by two all-Welsh pairings; Tom Roch/James Bevan and Dafydd Davies/Tom Chell.

The names listed are from the official FFM entry list and do not include late entries. The full entry list can be found at

Le Touquet also marks the sixth and final round of the prestigious, winter-long 2018/9 French Sand Championship. With 150 points for a win, the title is still a three-horse race between French stars, Antoine Cheurlin (597 points), Romain Couprie (585) who dominated the series up until a DNF at the previous round, and last year’s winner, Jeremy Forestier (568). Sheldon Seal is in sixth place overall.

Live timing for the two and a half hour race, which starts at 1.30pm UK time, can be found on the championship website at

Pictured: The first wave at the start of the 2018 Le Touquet beach race